top of page

Timothy Lake South RV Campground, East Stroudsburg, PA

A spacious, pet-friendly campground for our new trailer's first trip


This past weekend, we spent a couple of nights at Timothy Lake South RV Campground, which is part of the Thousand Trails network of campgrounds. The South location is sister to the Timothy Lake North Campground, and visitors to one have access to amenities in both (although on a cold, drizzly weekend in April, we weren't going to do much looking around).


The owners were very accommodating, allowing us to check in after they had closed the office (they give you the gate code) and to have local friends come by the next afternoon for a cookout without charging them admission (they had to park at the front of the campground, though, since we already had two vehicles at our lot).


From what I saw of the park, it was spacious, clean, and well-fitted. Due to the weather and the fact that I was driving back and forth from the camp to the hospital (where my older son was) to our house (to feed the cats and fish) and back again, I didn't see a whole lot, but the doggo and I went for a walk around the park Sunday morning before we left (when the weather finally cleared a bit). Everyone seemed friendly, and everyone seemed to have one or two dogs!


I didn't get any photos outdoors because of the crappy weather, so here are a few snaps of our brand-new camper. It's a Grey Wolf Model 22MKSE, made by Forest River. There were several reasons we chose this one out of the many available models: (1) The Shasta model we originally wanted was no longer being manufactured (we found this out too late, having driven all the way to Susquehanna RV to order one—the website said nothing!), (2) the Forest River was the only brand offering color schemes that weren't the bog-standard beige and brown (other than the Retro models, and while we like the way they look, they didn't have the features we wanted), (3) the full-size bunk beds, and (4) the great reviews.





A few things to note about the interior decor of this Forest River trailer:

  • It has limited amounts of beige, which is really good for someone like me who absolutely hates beige.

  • However, everything is grey and black. And that's great if you like that very sleek, modern, urban style in a trailer. (It beats the hell out of beige, IMHO.)

  • The cabinets are all stained black. I think I will most likely paint some of them, probably the top ones, white at some point, to help lighten and brighten the interior.

  • The bathroom is good, but it doesn't come with a towel rack, so I need to install one.

  • I hung things up with Command Strips and, when I ran out of those, hot glue.

  • The farmhouse sink in this thing is nicer than the one in my actual farmhouse that I actually live in.

  • You may have noticed I have a bit of a penchant for the Hudson's Bay Company look. This look is based on their iconic Point Blanket. If you're filthy rich, feel free to go to Hudson's Bay and buy yourself some Point Blanket decor—they have it on loads of things. If, like me, you're not filthy rich, you can buy some custom-made fabric from Spoonflower, get out your acrylics and do some custom painting, and visit your local craft store to pick up customizable items like these adorable hexagonal shadow boxes from Michaels. (The images inside them are printed on my inkjet and glued to some doubled-up cardboard, which I then cut out with an Exacto knife.)

  • When it comes to art, make your own! Those photographs of lighthouses are my own work, taken on my 2017 trip to Newfoundland, Canada. With some pretty basic Photoshop skills, I put a translucent text box over the bottoms and created titles for each. Then, I put them in cheap pine frames and painted the frames with different variations of the Hudson's Bay stripe logo.

  • The framed flag is the flag of Newfoundland. I got it on a sheet of cling-stickers, but I had never figured out where to put it. Suddenly, it dawned on me: Frame it!


Here are a few snaps of family and doggo, Sophie. The red-headed kid is my #2 son, and the guy holding Sophie is our friend, Guy.



So, I know this post wasn't as much about the campground as it was about the camper; that's unfortunately because I was scarcely around enough to enjoy either. I spent as much time in St. Luke's Monroe as I did camping. But the season is young, and so are we (well, sort of)!


Happy Camping to everyone out there! Stay safe, keep masking, and let's beat this doggone virus back into the oblivion whence it came.



 

Comments? Let us know!

bottom of page